BFI London Film Festival

The 60th BFI London Film Festival will be held this year from 5 to 16 October 2016. This year 193 feature films, 52 documentaries and 144 short films were selected. Of the selected films, Film Factory is proud to present 11 of its post-production :

  • On the Milky Road by Emir Kusturica 

During wartime, a dairy farmer, played by Emir Kusturica himself, braves every day the military front on a donkey to supply goods to soldiers. Carrying out its mission and being loved by a beautiful villager, the dairy is promised to a bright future. That's not counting on the appearance of a mysterious Italian girl that will change completely his life.

  • La Mort de Louis XIV by Albert Serra 

Played by French cinema legend Jean-Pierre Léaud, the king Louis XIV is declining. After returning from a walk the sovereign feels a sharp pain in his leg. Follows a long agony behind closed doors in his room.

  • La Région Salvaje by Amat Escalante 

A meteor falls on a mountain in Mexico. By falling the meteor completely changes the course of the life of a couple living in nearby plains. This fourth feature film signed by Amat Escalante, wants to be the sequel of his previous film, Heli, rewarded by Best Director price at Cannes Film Festival.

  • Neruda by Pablo Larrain

This is a national emblem that the Chilean director decides to pay tribute to : the writer, poet and politician Pablo Neruda. When in 1948 the Cold War spreads in Chile, Neruda violently criticized his government. President Videla Peluchonneau requests his arrest. Follows a real manhunt; The young inspector in charge of his arrest is hoping to build a reputation by capturing the famous fugitive.

  • L'Ornithologue by João Pedro Rodrigues 

João Pedro Rodrigues delivers us in his latest feature film the journey of an ornithologist in the rivers of northern Portugal. Hoping to spot rare specimens, the young man falls in rapids before being found unconscious by two Chinese pilgrims.

  • Personal Shopper by Olivier Assayas  

After Sils Maria, Kristen Stewart and director Olivier Assayas reunite for a new project. Kristen Stewart plays this time a personal shopper in charge of the wardrobe of a celebrity in Paris. The young woman, also is a medium, desperately trying to get in touch with the spirit of his deceased twin brother. She starts receiving strange anonymous messages on her phone.

  • Porto by Gabe Klinger

For his first feature fiction film, Gabe Klinger chose as subject a love story in Porto, the story of a night spent together by a man and a woman, played by Anton Yelchin and Lucie Lucas. The film is a triptych narrated by Chantal Akerman, presenting in three different narrative and visual approaches.

  • Scribe by Thomas Kruithof  

Duval, in his fifties, has been unemployed for two years when he is contacted by a mysterious employer who requests his services. His mission is to transcribe wiretaps. Plagued by financial difficulties, Duval accepts, unaware he will find himself at the heart of political conspiracy.

  • Sieranevada by Cristi Puiu 

Following the death of his father, Lary, in his forties, spends a Saturday in Bucharest with his family to commemorate the deceased. On the occasion of the reunion, tensions are rekindled, hidden truths burst. This is a human fresco that delivers Cristi Puiu through this family drama.

  • Le fils de Joseph by Eugène Green  

Vincent is an adolescent disturbed by the fact of not having a father. After research, he discovers that he is a distinguished editor, certainly acknowledged but mostly selfish. He plans a revenge against him but didn’t have time to run it. His meeting with Joseph calms him, changing his daily life.

  • Tramontane by Vatche Boulghourjian  

Rabih, a young blind man, lives in a small village in Lebanon. On the occasion of a passport application, he realizes that his documents were falsified. Discovering that he was adopted, Rabih begins a quest for his identity in a nation struggling to tell his own story.

BFI London Film Festival

La 60e édition du BFI London Film Festival se tiendra cette année du 5 au 16 octobre 2016. Cette année seront en compétition 193 long-métrages, 52 documentaires et 144 court-métrages. Sur les films sélectionnés, Film Factory est fier de présenter 11 de ses post-productions :

  • On the Milky Road d'Emir Kusturica 

En temps de guerre, un laitier, incarné par Emir Kusturica lui-même, brave chaque jour le front militaire à dos d'âne, afin d’approvisionner les soldats en marchandises. Menant à bien sa mission et étant aimé par une belle villageoise, le laitier semble promis à un avenir radieux. C'est sans compter l'apparition d'une mystérieuse italienne qui bouleversera complètement le fil de sa vie.

  • La Mort de Louis XIV d'Albert Serra 

Joué par la légende du cinéma français Jean-Pierre Léaud, Le Roi Louis XIV est en déclin. Après être rentré de promenade, le souverain sent une vive douleur à la jambe. S'ensuit une longue agonie que le spectateur suit dans le huit-clos de sa chambre.

  • La Région Salvaje d'Amat Escalante 

Une météorite tombe sur une montagne de la Terre Basse Mexicaine. Ce faisant, elle change complètement le cours de la vie d'un couple vivant dans les plaines voisines. Ce quatrième long métrage signé par Amat Escalante, se veut être la suite de son précédent film, Heli, récompensé à Cannes par le Prix de la mise en scène.

  • Neruda de Pablo Larrain

C'est à un emblème national que le réalisateur chilien décide de rendre hommage: l'écrivain, poète et homme politique Pablo Neruda. Alors qu'en 1948, la guerre froide s'étend au Chili, le penseur critique vivement son gouvernement. Le président Videla demande à l'inspecteur Peluchonneau de procéder à son arrestation. S'ensuit une véritable chasse à l'homme, le jeune inspecteur espérant se construire une renommée en capturant le célèbre fugitif. .

  • L'Ornithologue de João Pedro Rodrigues 

João Pedro Rodrigues nous livre dans son dernier long-métrage le cheminement d'un ornithologue dans les rivières du nord du Portugal. Espérant apercevoir des spécimens rares, le jeune homme échoue dans les rapides avant d'être retrouvé inconscient par deux pèlerines chinoises.

  • Personal Shopper d'Olivier Assayas  

Après Sils Maria, Kristen Stewart retrouve le réalisateur Olivier Assayas en incarnant cette fois-ci la chargée de garde-robe d'une célébrité à Paris. La jeune femme, également médium, tente désespérément d'entrer en contact avec l'esprit de son frère jumeau décédé. Elle reçoit alors sur son portable d'étranges messages anonymes.

  • Porto de Gabe Klinger 

Pour son premier long-métrage de fiction, Gabe Klinger a opté pour une histoire d'amour à Porto, l'histoire d'une nuit que passent ensemble un homme et une femme, incarnés par Anton Yelchin et Lucie Lucas. Le film se présente en un triptyque narré par Chantal Akerman, présentant ainsi trois approches narratives et visuelles différentes.

  • Scribe de Thomas Kruithof  

Duval, quinquagénaire, est au chômage depuis deux ans lorsqu'il est contacté par un mystérieux employeur qui lui demande ses services. Sa mission est la suivante : retranscrire des écoutes téléphoniques. En proie à des difficultés financières, Duval accepte, sans se douter qu'il se retrouvera au cœur d'un complot politique.

  • Sieranevada de Cristi Puiu 

Suite à la mort de son père, Lary, la quarantaine, passe un samedi à Bucarest en compagnie de sa famille afin de commémorer le défunt.À l'occasion de ces retrouvailles, des tensions se ravivent, des vérités cachées éclatent. C'est une véritable fresque humaine que nous livre Cristi Puiu à travers ce drame familial.

  • Le fils de Joseph d'Eugène Green  

Vincent est un adolescent perturbé par le fait de ne pas avoir de père. Après des recherches, il découvre qu'il s'agit d'un éminent éditeur, certes reconnu mais surtout égoïste. Il projette une vengeance contre lui mais n'aura pas le temps de l’exécuter. Sa rencontre avec Joseph l'apaise, changeant ainsi son quotidien et celui de sa mère par la même occasion.

  • Tramontane de Vatche Boulghourjian  

Rabih, jeune homme aveugle, vit dans un petit village au Liban. À l'occasion d'une demande de passeport, il se rend compte que ses papiers d'identité ont été falsifiés. En découvrant qu'il a été adopté, Rabih part en quête d'identité, dans une nation qui peine à narrer sa propre histoire.