San Sebastian Film Festival

The 64th edition of the San Sebastian Film Festival takes place from 16 to 24 September 2016. Among the twenty feature films selected in official competition, three films post-produced by Film Factory were selected. Three other of its post-productions are selected in the categories New Directors, Horizontes Latinos and Zabaltegui

  • On the Milky Road by Emir Kusturica (Pearls)

During wartime, a dairy farmer, played by Emir Kusturica himself, braves every day the military front on a donkey to supply goods to soldiers. Carrying out its mission and being loved by a beautiful villager, the dairy is promised to a bright future. That's not counting on the appearance of a mysterious Italian girl that will change completely his life.

  • Neruda by Pablo Larrain (Pearls)

This is a national emblem that the Chilean director decides to pay tribute to : the writer, poet and politician Pablo Neruda. When in 1948 the Cold War spreads in Chile, Neruda violently criticized his government. President Videla Peluchonneau requests his arrest. Follows a real manhunt; The young inspector in charge of his arrest is hoping to build a reputation by capturing the famous fugitive.

  • Sieranevadaby Cristi Puiu (Pearls)

Following the death of his father, Lary, in his forties, spends a Saturday in Bucharest with his family to commemorate the deceased. On the occasion of the reunion, tensions are rekindled, hidden truths burst. This is a human fresco that delivers Cristi Puiu through this family drama.

  • Porto by Gabe Klinger (New Directors)

For his first feature fiction film, Gabe Klinger chose as subject a love story in Porto, the story of a night spent together by a man and a woman, played by Anton Yelchin and Lucie Lucas. The film is a triptych narrated by Chantal Akerman, presenting in three different narrative and visual approaches.

  • La Région Salvaje by Amat Escalante (Horizontes Latinos)

A meteor falls on a mountain in Mexico. By falling the meteor completely changes the course of the life of a couple living in nearby plains. This fourth feature film signed by Amat Escalante, wants to be the sequel of his previous film, Heli, rewarded by Best Director price at Cannes Film Festival.

  • L'Ornithologue by João Pedro Rodrigues (Zabaltegi Tabakalera)

João Pedro Rodrigues delivers us in his latest feature film the journey of an ornithologist in the rivers of northern Portugal. Hoping to spot rare specimens, the young man falls in rapids before being found unconscious by two Chinese pilgrims.

San Sebastian Film Festival

La 64e édition du San Sebastian Film Festival a lieu du 16 au 24 septembre 2016. Parmi la vingtaine de long-métrages sélectionnés en compétition officielle, Film Factory compte trois de ses post-productions. Trois autres de ses post-productions sont sélectionnées dans les catégories New Directors, Zabaltegui et Horizontes Latinos :

  • On the Milky Road d'Emir Kusturica sélectionné dans la catégorie Pearls

En temps de guerre, un laitier, incarné par Emir Kusturica lui-même, brave chaque jour le front militaire à dos d'âne, afin d’approvisionner les soldats en marchandises. Menant à bien sa mission et étant aimé par une belle villageoise, le laitier semble promis à un avenir radieux. C'est sans compter l'apparition d'une mystérieuse italienne qui bouleversera complètement le fil de sa vie.

  • Neruda de Pablo Larrain , sélectionné dans la catégorie Pearls

C'est à un emblème national que le réalisateur chilien décide de rendre hommage: l'écrivain, poète et homme politique Pablo Neruda. Alors qu'en 1948, la guerre froide s'étend au Chili, le penseur critique vivement son gouvernement. Le président Videla demande à l'inspecteur Peluchonneau de procéder à son arrestation. S'ensuit une véritable chasse à l'homme, le jeune inspecteur espérant se construire une renommée en capturant le célèbre fugitif.

  • Sieranevada de Cristi Puiu, sélectionné dans la catégorie Pearls 

Suite à la mort de son père, Lary, la quarantaine, passe un samedi à Bucarest en compagnie de sa famille afin de commémorer le défunt.À l'occasion de ces retrouvailles, des tensions se ravivent, des vérités cachées éclatent. C'est une véritable fresque humaine que nous livre Cristi Puiu à travers ce drame familial.

  • Porto de Gabe Klinger, sélectionné dans la catégorie New Directors 

Pour son premier long-métrage de fiction, Gabe Klinger a opté pour une histoire d'amour à Porto, l'histoire d'une nuit que passent ensemble un homme et une femme, incarnés par Anton Yelchin et Lucie Lucas. Le film se présente en un triptyque narré par Chantal Akerman, présentant ainsi trois approches narratives et visuelles différentes.

  • La Région Salvaje d'Amat Escalante, sélectionné dans la catégorie Horizontes Latinos  

Une météorite tombe sur une montagne de la Terre Basse Mexicaine. Ce faisant, elle change complètement le cours de la vie d'un couple vivant dans les plaines voisines. Ce quatrième long métrage signé par Amat Escalante, se veut être la suite de son précédent film, Heli, récompensé à Cannes par le Prix de la mise en scène.

  • L'Ornithologue de João Pedro Rodrigues, sélectionné dans la catégorie Zabaltegi Tabakalera

João Pedro Rodrigues nous livre dans son dernier long-métrage le cheminement d'un ornithologue dans les rivières du nord du Portugal. Espérant apercevoir des spécimens rares, le jeune homme échoue dans les rapides avant d'être retrouvé inconscient par deux pèlerines chinoises.