Toronto International Film Festival – TIFF

The 41st edition of the Toronto International Film Festival, presents this year 296 feature films and 101 short films, representing a total of over 83 countries. The festival, which this year takes place from 8 to 18 September, will present as opening film The Magnificent Seven directed by Antoine Fuqua and The Edge of Seventeen by Kelly Fremon Craig as closure film.

Film Factory is proud to announce that eight of its post-productions have been selected to the 2016 edition of TIFF :

  • Blind Sun by Joyce A. Nashawati 

First feature film by director Joyce A. Nashawati, Blind Sun retraces the summer of Ashraf in Greece, a country in which he is considered as a stranger. His work is simple, keep the coastal villa of a French expatriate. His life falls apart when a police officer decides to withdraw his residence permit. The oppressive heat of summer and bureaucratic problems he is facing propel Ashraf into paranoia and madness.

  • The Empty Box by Claudia Sainte-Luce 

Mexican Claudia Sainte-Luce produces and plays in her second feature film, playing a young woman in Mexico who finds herself obliged to take care of her demented father. The father and daughter learn how to mend their broken relationship.

  • La Mort de Louis XIV by Albert Serra 

Played by French cinema legend Jean-Pierre Léaud, the king Louis XIV is declining. After returning from a walk the sovereign feels a sharp pain in his leg. Follows a long agony behind closed doors in his room.

  • Neruda by Pablo Larrain  

This is a national emblem that the Chilean director decides to pay tribute to : the writer, poet and politician Pablo Neruda. When in 1948 the Cold War spreads in Chile, Neruda violently criticized his government. President Videla Peluchonneau requests his arrest. Follows a real manhunt; The young inspector in charge of his arrest is hoping to build a reputation by capturing the famous fugitive.

  • L'Ornithologue by João Pedro Rodrigues 

João Pedro Rodrigues delivers us in his latest feature film the journey of an ornithologist in the rivers of northern Portugal. Hoping to spot rare specimens, the young man falls in rapids before being found unconscious by two Chinese pilgrims.

  • À Jamais by Benoît Jacquot  

Last creation of French filmmaker At Never tells a love story between a director, played by Mathieu Amalric, and Laura, a young art performer, played by Julia Roy. The couple spins the perfect love in a beach house, until Laura hears strange noises that mark the beginning of disconcerting events.

  • Personal Shopper by Olivier Assayas 

After Sils Maria, Kristen Stewart and director Olivier Assayas reunite for a new project. Kristen Stewart plays this time a personal shopper in charge of the wardrobe of a celebrity in Paris. The young woman, also is a medium, desperately trying to get in touch with the spirit of his deceased twin brother. She starts receiving strange anonymous messages on her phone.

  • Sieranevada by Cristi Puiu 

Following the death of his father, Lary, in his forties, spends a Saturday in Bucharest with his family to commemorate the deceased. On the occasion of the reunion, tensions are rekindled, hidden truths burst. This is a human fresco that delivers Cristi Puiu through this family drama.

Sélection Festival International du Film de Toronto – TIFF

La 41e édition du Festival du Film International de Toronto, présente cette année 296 longs-métrages ainsi que 101 court-métrages, représentants au total plus de 83 pays. Le festival, qui cette année a lieu du 8 au 18 septembre, accueille en ouverture The Magnificent Seven d'Antoine Fuqua ainsi que The Edge of Seventeen de Kelly Fremon Craig en clôture.

Film Factory est fier d'annoncer que huit de ses post-productions ont été sélectionnées à l'édition 2016 du TIFF :

  • Blind Sun de Joyce A. Nashawati 

Premier long métrage de la réalisatrice Joyce A. Nashawati, Blind Sun retrace l'été d'Ashraf en Grèce, pays dans lequel il est considéré comme un étranger. Son travail est simple : garder la villa côtière d'un expatrié français. Sa vie s'effondre le jour où un policier décide de lui retirer son permis de résidence. La chaleur accablante de l'été et les déboires bureaucratiques auxquels il est confronté propulsent ainsi Ashraf dans la paranoïa et la folie.

  • The Empty Box de Claudia Sainte-Luce 

La mexicaine Claudia Sainte-Luce réalise et joue dans son second long-métrage, incarnant une jeune femme à Mexico qui se retrouve obligée de prendre soin de son père qui, aliéné, s'engouffre dans une démence sénile. Le père et sa fille apprennent à retisser des liens brisés par plusieurs années de négligence.

  • La Mort de Louis XIV d'Albert Serra 

Joué par la légende du cinéma français Jean-Pierre Léaud, Le Roi Louis XIV est en déclin. Après être rentré de promenade, le souverain sent une vive douleur à la jambe. S'ensuit une longue agonie que le spectateur suit dans le huit-clos de sa chambre.

  • Neruda de Pablo Larrain  

C'est à un emblème national que le réalisateur chilien décide de rendre hommage: l'écrivain, poète et homme politique Pablo Neruda. Alors qu'en 1948, la guerre froide s'étend au Chili, le penseur critique vivement son gouvernement. Le président Videla demande à l'inspecteur Peluchonneau de procéder à son arrestation. S'ensuit une véritable chasse à l'homme, le jeune inspecteur espérant se construire une renommée en capturant le célèbre fugitif.

  • L'Ornithologue de João Pedro Rodrigues 

João Pedro Rodrigues nous livre dans son dernier long-métrage le cheminement d'un ornithologue dans les rivières du nord du Portugal. Espérant apercevoir des spécimens rares, le jeune homme échoue dans les rapides avant d'être retrouvé inconscient par deux pèlerines chinoises.

  • À Jamais de Benoît Jacquot  

Dernière création du cinéaste français, À Jamais relate une histoire d'amour entre un réalisateur, interprété par Mathieu Amalric, et Laura, une jeune performeuse d'art, jouée par Julia Roy. Le couple file le parfait amour dans une maison de bord de mer, jusqu'au jour où Laura entend d'étranges bruits qui marquent le début d'événements déconcertants..

  • Personal Shopper d'Olivier Assayas 

Après Sils Maria, Kristen Stewart retrouve le réalisateur Olivier Assayas en incarnant cette fois-ci la chargée de garde-robe d'une célébrité à Paris. La jeune femme, également médium, tente désespérément d'entrer en contact avec l'esprit de son frère jumeau décédé. Elle reçoit alors sur son portable d'étranges messages anonymes.

  • Sieranevada de Cristi Puiu 

Suite à la mort de son père, Lary, la quarantaine, passe un samedi à Bucarest en compagnie de sa famille afin de commémorer le défunt.À l'occasion de ces retrouvailles, des tensions se ravivent, des vérités cachées éclatent. C'est une véritable fresque humaine que nous livre Cristi Puiu à travers ce drame familial.